Many of this year’s races, such as Blair County Sheriff, D.A., Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, Logan Twp Supervisors and Tyrone’s Mayor were settled by Spring’s Primary results, but a few races were hotly contested.

Bruce Kelley returns to Altoona City Council as top vote-getter, followed by Matt Cacciotti, Christie Jordan, and Dave Butterbaugh was 4th, keeping his seat after some contention between he and Altoona Firefighters over the past week., leaving Natalie Barlick-Reed out.

In the one contested Altoona Magisterial District Judge Race 14-1-02, Ben Jones won over Meghan Irwin by a narrow 51% to 48% margin.

Hollidaysburg Mayor is once again Joe Dodson, winning 64 to 35% over David Bailey.

In Antis Twp, David Worthington and Robert Smith won two Supervisor slots comfortably over Ron Gensamer.

In School Board races, winning seats in Altoona Area were Kelly Irwin Adams, David Francis, and newcomers Ed Kreuz and Rick Hoover.

In Hollidaysburg Area, winners were Scott Brennamen, , Ronald Sommer, Rick Gallagher and Melissa Mitchell.

Though Wade Kagarise overwhelmingly came in first at home in Blair County for Judge of Superior Court, statewide he was 8th of 9, with the winners being Marie McLaughlin, Deborah Kusnelman, Carolyn Nichols and Mary Murrray.

For Justice of the Supreme Court, incumbent Sallie Mundy won over Challenger Dwayne Woodruff 52 to 48%.

Ellen Ciesler and Christine Fizzano Cannon won for Judge of Commonwealth Court.

3 judges won retention votes, and the proposed constitutional amendment to the Homestead Property Tax Exclusion passed 54 to 45%. That vote doesn’t change the law, but it allows the General Assembly and localities to pursue changing it.